Sign In
Text Size: A A A
|
                          



Anak Tempatan Kecewa

Date of Complaint:
17/01/2017 01:56 PM

Category:
General

Description:
Hi, I would like to know what is the status for the FDI in Brunei. One of the FDI i work with now given us force unpaid leave due to the relevant authority. Back to last year 2016 i still remember that MINISTER EIDPMO promised to this FDI to give him to solve the thing for 3 month.But until today no news at all it seem silence. Now we the local worker suffer no salary due to force unpaid leave. What we know the relevant authority were MPRT, BEDB, EIDPMO and BRI's. For this metter alredy write a complain letter to His Majesty regarding this matter.       

ActionDescription:

Status:
Open

Date Of Issue Closed:
-

Curious person

Date of Complaint:
12/01/2017 11:49 AM

Category:
General

Description:
Hi, would like to enquire what is the requirement for a company for an employee. Is there any specific for only localism and just ignoring for not local although most of background (family) is local? Isn't it had to be revise? Just being confuse regarding this nowadays. Appreciate if there is details explained for this matters.
Thank you.

ActionDescription:

Status:
Open

Date Of Issue Closed:
-

Mr FH

Date of Complaint:
11/01/2017 07:44 PM

Category:
General

Description:
I've been working for 3 and half years in oil and gas industry, as a Junior HSe Officer at one of the company in Kuala Belait. And now i have applied in so many companies but havent received any call or opportunities. Ive been unemployed for 2 months. i hope and i wish that yout kind effort can help me.

ActionDescription:

Status:
Open

Date Of Issue Closed:
-

Love Brunei

Date of Complaint:
10/01/2017 08:37 AM

Category:
General

Description:
Could you please provide me an e-mail address or phone number so I can contact for further discussion as I need to keep this totally confidential.

ActionDescription:
Thank you for reaching out to us. EIDPMO welcomes any discussion and treats any confidential matter seriously. We have tried to contact you through the e-mail given but have not been successful. Please feel free to contact me directly at <a href="mailto:nazirul.zaimin@energy.gov.bn">nazirul.zaimin@energy.gov.bn</a>&nbsp;or to contact our LBD Hotline at 7299111. Please be assured that we will keep your identity anonymous.

Update on 18 January 2017: Thank you for reaching EIDPMO and seeing us on the 17th of January. EIDPMO applauds your courage in bringing up the matter. As mentioned during the meeting, EIDPMO will share the matter with another relevant government agency and please be assured that we will keep this strictly confidential.

Status:
Close

Date Of Issue Closed:
10/01/2017 08:57 AM

Mr S

Date of Complaint:
03/01/2017 10:19 PM

Category:
General

Description:
Assalamualaikum & Salam Sejahtera,

Selaku dari seorang pekerja yang baru sahaja di buang dari sektor swasta minyak & gas, Saya ingin meminta pendapat berkenaan dengan pembuangan kerja

Syarikat yang di miliki oleh majoriti pemegang IC merah (PR). Baru-baru ini saya telah pun di buang pada 9 Disember lepas oleh kerana prestasi yang kurang memuaskan tanpa notis. Mereka hanya memberikan notis di dalam hari yang sama saya di bebaskan. 

Akan tetapi, semasa baru menerima pekerjaan di sektor tersebut - saya di berikan tempoh percubaan(Probation) selama 6 Bulan. Menurut kontrak, saya hanya akan di nilai selepas 6 bulan pekerjaan dan sekiranya prestasi tidak memuaskan, mereka adalah bertanggungjawab untuk memberikan jawatan yang lain ATAU diturunkan dari jawatan tersebut. Di dalam kes ini, saya telah dibuang sebelum tempoh percubaan 6 bulan tamat - khususnya 3 bulan.

Berkenanaan dengan prestasi, saya mengaku bahawa prestasi yang di berikan tidak memuaskan. Saya menerima pekerjaan ini kerana dijanjikan inisiatif untuk memperkembangkan diri dari latihan dan tetapi syarikat itu telah gagal untuk memberikan latihan untuk memperkembangkan diri saya selaku pekerja. Inisiatif tersebut adalah sebahagian daripada polisi syarikat berkenaan. Syarikat tersebut telah pun terlepas pandang bahawa saya adalah seorang yang tidak pernah berpengalaman di dalam bidang tersebut.

Saya mempunyai kurang keyakinan untuk bekerja di bawah pengurusan yang lemah dan leka oleh kerana kekasaran dari segi layanan seorang pengurus di syarikat tersebut. Oleh kerana itu, Kontrak yang di berikan tidak pernah di tandatangani sejak pekerjaan di syarikat itu.

Sila berikan pendapat jika isu ini adalah sah untuk membuat laporan.

Terima Kasih.

ActionDescription:
We would like to thank the writer for meeting and discussing the matter with EIDPMO on the 4th of January 2017. As a follow up to our meeting, EIDPMO met with the company on the 7th January 2017. The company was reminded to strengthen their HR process, especially in dealing with termination of local staff even during a probation period. This includes the need to have a proper written warning letter, for repeated cases of non-performance or disciplinary issues. Besides, the company was also reminded to inform EIDPMO if the company plan to retrench or terminate any local staff in the future.
We wish you the best in the future and we respect your decision to seek other opportunities.

Status:
Close

Date Of Issue Closed:
03/01/2017 10:29 PM

MN

Date of Complaint:
02/01/2017 05:42 PM

Category:
General

Description:
Wonderer
I worked in one of the foreign companies(Company K). I wonder how the labour department is granting many foreign worker(s) work permits/visas and this company HR department handled by foreigner(s) and not by local/citizen?. These “issues” have been in practice for years till present such as follows:-
1.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; WHY foreigners can hold positions such as Administrative, Human Resource & Accounts positions.
Do foreigners understand with the local employment laws and regulation, LBD, etc?. Surely, this will leads to preferential on foreign employment over local/citizen and no wonder most of the workers are foreigners!!
2.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; WHY Local/citizen, daily working hours is 9, from Monday to Saturday ??
3.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; It was found that local employment agencies are helping these companies and have done a LIE in the Permit/visa application to the government authorities in order to help them obtaining “easy channel” work permits or visas as these foreign employees have work permits/visas that are totally different from the jobs that they were given?.&nbsp;&nbsp;
Should the employment agencies continue to lie?
4.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; WHY foreign workers with age 60 and above still allowed to work in Brunei whereas local/citizen is not !.&nbsp;&nbsp; Is the labour department aware on this?? WHY they still approved their working permit/visa?
Thank you EIDPMO to share and assists on this matter, hope this would entitled the unemployed local/citizen the rights to get a better foothold in the local/foreign companies, new or currently operating in Brunei.

ActionDescription:

Status:
Open

Date Of Issue Closed:
-

Frustrated

Date of Complaint:
01/01/2017 07:22 PM

Category:
General

Description:
I joined Company Z in August 2016 and was to complete a six months’ probation for my job position. During my fifth month of probation (22 December 2016), I received a letter from the Company stating I have failed my probation and the Management has discussed and agreed to give me a second attempt by working with the Mechanical Team in the warehouse for 15 days.
It took me by surprise when I received such letter as I believe a probation period is an opportunity for an employer to assess a new employee’s job performance, in order to decide whether the assigned job suit the employee. But for my scenario, there was no attempt made to discuss and address my performance issues that have resulted in the unsuccessful probation period before issuing such letter, and no proper assessment process taken place and documented. Furthermore, there was no structured training, guidance and supervisory support provided to allow me to achieve the required standards at work.
I therefore wrote a letter to the Company to highlight those issues that I noted during my probationary period, to seek an opportunity to discuss this matter further. During the discussion held between my supervisor and myself on 29 December 2016, there was no attempt to discuss my performance issues and draw up with an improvement plan. I was also being told that the supervisor of the warehouse does not want to accept my transfer to the mechanical team, due to my lack of experience in that field of work which might endanger my life. My supervisor therefore suggested me to speak to the Head of Marine on accepting me in their team so I can continue to be employed in the Company. I questioned why there was no warning letter issued for my unsatisfactory performance, and was told that it is not the Company’s policy to issue warning letter to their employee.
On 30 December 2016, the Company issued me another letter to advise my employment with the Company shall be terminated on 30 December 2016 due to no improvement made on my work performance and efficiency, and the Management has discussed and decided that the 15 days training at the warehouse as stated in their initial letter dated 22 December 2016.
As a fresh graduate, I would like clarify on the following issues:
1. Can a company failed an employee’s probationary period, prior to conducting a proper and fair assessment, and without providing a strong valid reason provided that has led to my unsuccessful probation period? I feel this is unfair as the criteria for assessing my performance or conduct, and expectations to be achieved during the probationary period and thereafter, are unclear.
2. Shouldn’t the second attempt given by the Company to be at the same job position, instead of transferring the employee to another area of work, which he or she totally has no experience at.
3. Can a company terminate an employee prior to written notice provided?
4. Can a company issued a subsequent letter stating there is no improvement made by the employee on his or her work performance, when there was no effort made by the employer to identify and discuss the performance issues, and work out a personal improvement plan.
5. Is it a right approach to ask the employee to approach a Head of Department to seek for opportunity to join the team? Shouldn’t the right approach be the Human Resource to liaise directly with the Head of Department, and follow up an interview between the Head of Department and the employee?
Clearly, this Company does not have a proper human resource management process in place, and favoritism is observed in the workplace, where an employee is favored over other candidates, and is given special treatment.
I will greatly appreciate if EIDPMO can look into this matter urgently. Thank you.









ActionDescription:
Thank you for reaching us and discussing the matter with EIDPMO on the 4th January 2017 and attending the feedback session on the 14th January 2017.
 
As shared with you on the 14th January 2017, EIDPMO had met with the company on the 7th of January 2016 and the company was reminded to strengthen their HR process especially in dealing with termination of local staff even during a probation period. This includes the need to have a proper written warning letter, for repeated cases of non-performance or disciplinary issues. Besides, the company was also reminded to inform EIDPMO if the company has any plans to retrench or to terminate any local staff in the future.
 
Besides, the company has also decided against re-absorbing yourself due to issues that we have shared with you, and you have accepted the company decision. As advised on the 14th January 2017, to find alternative employment, you can access the Job Centre Brunei via http://jobcentrebrunei.gov.bn/. We wish you all  the best in your job search.

Status:
Close

Date Of Issue Closed:
01/01/2017 07:37 PM

Looking for a better opportunity

Date of Complaint:
08/12/2016 11:57 PM

Category:
General

Description:
assalam, i would like to know on how to apply my C.V to lumut cogen power plant. i have search everywhere and there's not a single website that allow me to send my C.V to them
hopefully you will reply, i am very sorry for taking your time, looking forward for your respond.

ActionDescription:
Waalaikumsalam and thanks for reaching out to EIDPMO. The COGEN power plant at Lumut is operated by the Department of Electrical Services (DES).
 
You may send the CV to:
 Pg Jamra Weira bin Pg Hj Petra
Director of DES,
The Department of Electrical Services,
Old Airport road, Berakas.
Brunei Darussalam.
BB3510
jamra.petra(at)des.gov.bn
 
If you have further query, please contact LBD Hotline 7299111

Status:
Close

Date Of Issue Closed:
09/12/2016 12:03 AM

Training Programs

Date of Complaint:
06/12/2016 04:59 PM

Category:
General

Description:
Thanks to EIDPMO and HM for the opportunities that has been given to locals who have finished their education to gain experience and find a job.

However, the companies that have been involved in the program have not been monitored closely which allowed them to assign these trainees to do tasks that are not specific to their employed posts. I have seen trainee engineers being asked to do technician jobs instead or even a draftsmen position. Yes, these are essential for development and knowing what other positions do, however, these trainees are misused and misled to do mundane tasks to give way to foreign workers who feel threatened by uprising local talents.

Secondly, some companies have been known to threaten trainees due to the fact that existing management have not been following procedures and are scared of the consequences. An infamous company working within a major plant in brunei have also forced their trainee engineers to sign a misconduct letter on the basis of they don't want their foreign workers posts to be replaced. In addition to that, demoting and tranferring workers are very common just on the basisi that higher management 'don't like' how well the trainee had been developing.

I am very disappointed at these company. I hope they are being monitored clearly and if no improvements are made, be exempted of these programs which are supposed to help our future generations be successful.

ActionDescription:
Thank you for reaching out to EIDPMO and please contact us directly via LBD Hotline 7299111 to discuss this further. Please rest assured that we will respect your anonymity on this matter.

An update on 11/12/2016: Thank you for reaching out to EIDPMO and raising the above issues to our attention. EIDPMO wish to work together with the writer in addressing the issue raised effectively. Appreciate if the writer can contact myself by email to sarah.yusop@energy.gov.bn or otherwise via LBD Hotline 7299111. Please rest assured that we will keep your anonymity on this matter.
 
Industry Competency Framework (ICF) and National Energy Graduate Apprenticeship Scheme (NEGAS) are two programs that EIDPMO collaborates with other relevant government agencies and companies in the oil and gas sector. These two programs are monitored by the ICF team in EIDPMO with the support of other relevant agencies such as IBTE and BSP via schedule bi-monthly audit visits and NEGAS apprentices' 6 months assessment. The audits and assessments are part of the the ICF and NEGAS framework to ensure the students and apprentices achieved their learnings and skills target, as well as gain real working experience from their industrial placement.
 
Once again thanks for reaching us and looking forward to connect with you.
 
Best Regards
Sarah
ICF Team

Status:
Close

Date Of Issue Closed:
06/12/2016 05:13 PM

Curious Reader - Info sharing

Date of Complaint:
06/12/2016 03:17 PM

Category:
General

Description:
Subject: Termination, LBD & Local/Citizen employment
I am a citizen, after reading through recently complaint topics(K or D?) related to the subject stated above, I personally felt

that for a nation in the process of developing, a joint venture or any foreign registered companies such as FDI or its

affiliated companies play a vital role, especially the local director registered, who needs to be active on the local

employment target, employees issues and their progress within their companies’ department (They have to be interested on

company function & progress in terms of LBD & business alike). Success is very much depend on them !!.

 
As a local director, a role model and key player one MUST possess the right caliber

(presentable personality, social, academically qualified and work experience- technical and/or management field) with mentor or

coach experience, ONLY then appointed company designated local directors would be much helpful for better understanding

of local employment, employee issues or laying the right pathway/foundation for the young generation and/or towards nation

building.

My suggestion would be, if possible screen through ALL the current legal local directors’ profiles (Non Executive and Executive

) and/or new applicants by the relevant local approval authorities, approved; candidates shall meet the basic qualities

and their performance on their on key duties such as stated above shall be monitored. Any incompetency shall be followed up

closely, judged or otherwise to be released.
Thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts.

ActionDescription:
Thank you for reaching out to EIDPMO and please contact us directly via LBD Hotline 7299111 to discuss this further. Please rest assured that we will respect your anonymity on this matter.

Updated as of 10/12/16: Thank you for sharing your concerns with EIDPMO. The Brunei Government strives to ensure that local opportunities are maximised as spin-offs to Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) opportunity. This includes in generating sustainable job opportunities which will also help address unemployment issue. Local business development (LBD) targets are embedded into FDI projects. According to the FDI employment statistics, at least 154 Bruneian are holding Management and Supervisory positions throughout the FDI industry in Brunei. We appreciate your concerns on the work environment and culture integration where mutual respect must exist between locals and non-locals. On this, we seek further information and welcome you to approach EIDPMO directly through LBD Hotline (+673 7299111). Please rest assured that we will keep your anonymity on this matter.

Status:
Close

Date Of Issue Closed:
06/12/2016 03:18 PM

1 - 10 Next